The Institution of Mechanical Engineers would like to thank the following people and organisations for their assistance in developing this report:

Prof Ian M. Arbon CEng CEnv FIMechE

Michael Ayres

Richard Campbell

Dr Dora Fazekas

Dr Tim Fox CEng CEnv FIMechE

Erica Herrero-Martinez

Clive Hickman CEng FIMechE

Dr Lisa Kitinoja

Benjamin North

Toby Peters

Michael Reid CEng FIMechE

Brian Robinson CEng CEnv MIMechE

David Strahan

Eric Trachtenberg

Diego Villarreal

Tanzania – Workshop



Embassy of Finland


Kiliflora Limited

McLarty Associates

TAHA Fresh

Tanzania Academy of Science

Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology

Tanzanian Horticultural Association

Tanzanian Prime Minister’s Office/Ministry of Agriculture, Food Security and Cooperatives

Tol Gases Limited


University of Dar es Salaam


World Vision, Kenya

World Vision, Tanzania

India – Workshop

Anna University

Automotive World



Power Systems Research

Image credits:

Cover: ©Piper Mackay/Getty Images;

page 6: ©Ingetje Tadros/Getty Images;

page 12: ©IndiaPictures/Getty Images;

page 14: ©TAO Images Limited/Getty

Images; page 24: ©Meinzahn/iStockphoto;

page 26: ©; page 28/30:

©Liquid Air Energy Network; page 34: Highview

Enterprises Ltd; page 38: ©AFP/Stringer/

Getty Images; page 40: ©Martin Harvey/Getty

Images; page 45: ©fivepointsix/Dreamstime;

page 48: Mark Williamson Stock Photography/

Getty Images.